"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

Society is a place where people live in unity with integrity. The prompt suggests that solidarity is key to success rather than competition. I mostly agree, with the given statement for the following reasons.

Firstly, when people in society live by helping one another and promoting the growth of other then it is unlikely that the society will fail in fields like leadership and industry. For an instance, in a society, where people respect one another and provide manpower in achieving the important decisions that has been taken for the welfare of the society. Then their chances of failure will be very low. As they will exchange thoughts, expertise and decision making is fair represents all. On the other hand it is impossible to imagine a society to succeed when its member lack cooperation, respect for one another the society gets filled with rife and the young ones that are the future also gets blended in it from the very beginning.

Secondly, one who learns from the surrounding and is able to maintain the harmony is a true leader. For an instance, if a company wants to succeed than the best way would be to keep the experts working in harmony rather than creating a competition among them. If a specific department makes the mistakes then there should be discussion to improve rather than criticising the workers of the department. As, at times everybody makes mistake and they learn from it and they grow.

Lastly, some might argue that, competition is the important factor for preparing people in leadership role. For an instance, one can never imagine Steve Jobs or Bill gates working for one another, had they not had a healthy competition we would not have been able to use the modern devices. On contrary had they worked together they could have brought something new to the world, which only remains the possibility.

In conclusion, competition and cooperation both are important for the development of an individual. However, cooperation helps to learn and grow from the counter part whereas an unhealthy competition impediment the growth of an individual.