The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.’

Competition vs cooperation is a debate that has been running since the beginning of civilization. Do people perform better when they are challenged by their peers or do they strive when they are provided a benign environment where everybody has equal opportunities? While both models have their pros and cons, history provides evidence that a sense of competition among students always brings out the better in them.

Firstly, Humans are ego driven beings. The desire to prove oneself to be better than others is what drives us as individuals. If channeled and utilized properly, this desire can become a very strong motivation. Students who are competitive in nature often bring out the best in each other. These students will someday be required to represent world class organizations. Large tech organizations like Apple and Samsung, for example, are constantly competing with each other for the number 1 spot in terms of mobile device sales. Instilling a spirit of competition among students from a very young age will help prepare them for the challenges they will face later on in life, once they have been hired by a firm that wants to be number one in its field.

Secondly, an environment where there is no competition often leads to complacence. That is not what our objective should be as the most intelligent beings on the planet. Humans, as a race should always strive to become better at what we do. Be it astronomy, sports, arts or government administration, the goal has always been to improve. A world of cooperation might prove to be encumber that. A relevant example that comes to mind to justify this claim is the reservation system in India’s public sector where 30% of the seats in government institutions and offices are reserved for backward classes of society. While this has greatly helped said backward classes to regain their position in society, many members holding seats through quota make no efforts to improve their skill set since they have no competition to face. This brings in mind the third and last argument in favor of competition.

Competition ensures that only the most skilled make it to the top. This warrants that people have to make genuine efforts to attain positions of authority. Take Carnegie Mellon or any other pioneering educational institute for example. There is only one way one can get an admit to the university – by beating the competition. No wonder, CMU alumni are revered throughout the world as they are known to have proven themselves in their respective fields.

Competition thus ensures that each candidate puts his best leg forward. This not only benefits organization that hire these people but also the world in general as they are provided a better standard of service by leaders who do not understand settling down and strive to better themselves at each step of their careers. It also ensures that only the best people get in, and thus elevates the level of effort that people are required to put in order to be recognized.