Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

“Make a career out of your hobby and you wouldn’t have to work a single day.”

We have all heard this brief yet powerful saying. It implies that a person who can make a career out of his interests will enjoy his work so much, it won’t feel like work at all. University students at the brink of starting their careers often feel bewildered by the plethora of career options that they have in front of them. Should they pursue their passion or should they pursue that one field that is predicted to create a million jobs in the market in the coming couple of years? A lucrative career in a trending field, while feeling good in theory, has little chance of being satisfactory to the person concerned. Universities should, thus encourage students to pursue their interests rather than trending fields.

This recommendation can be substantiated by a variety of justifications. Firstly, the likelihood of success in a field of the student’s interest is way more than in a lucrative field. Since the latter is trending, it is bound to have greater competition. We never know how many of these competitors are actually pursuing this field as a passion. A student should thus be encouraged to follow a field he/she is good in. As has been said in Raju Hirani’s excellent film – 3 idiots, “One should chase excellence instead of success, and success will follow as a natural consequence”.

Secondly, encouraging students to follow their passion can only benefit the university since chances of these students of succeeding in their fields of passion would be pretty good. Many of such students might even become pioneers in their respective fields, and being alumnus of their universities, they would only strengthen their universities reputation as one of the best in the world.

Lastly, even if a student is coaxed into pursuing a trending field, it would require a substantial amount of investment both in terms of time and effort on the part of the student to make a career in said field. One must understand that having a career is not like having a 2 week internship at a startup. A person’s career becomes a very major part of his life which if not enjoyed, can become dull and tedious very quickly. Getting into a field is one thing, but surviving there is totally another, especially when the person does not enjoy working in the field.

A university should thus strive in honing its students’ passions rather than pushing them into fields that might feel lucrative at the moment. A student who pursues his passion is bound to succeed sooner or later. Even if he does not earn as much as he would have in a trending field of work, the satisfaction he would get in working in a field of his interest would be unparelled.