The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The author is spot on to recognize that cooperation is the most important factor in determining a leader's effectiveness. Leaders are not formed in a week, hence it makes perfect sense for the society to inculcate cooperative attributes to its young people. Leaders, by and large, have to make decisions based on the inputs from their team members and then relying on their own experience in different scenarios, whose outcomes over time would make or break a leader. The first step in making a decision requires that leaders have to communicate with their team members to collect information and it's necessary that they exhibit a sense of cooperation to get the information that they want from their team members. No one would be ready to converse with someone else who exhibits haughtiness(which could be a trait developed unconsciously because of a competitive mindset).

I have to talk about Dr. Satish Dawan here, an exuberant leader, who was the godfather of Dr. A.P.J Abdul Kalam, the missile man of India. Satish Dawan notably had exhibited other attributes of leadership including compassion, sanguinity, and level-mindedness which the following instance will make clear. Abdul Kalam had pressed a button to launch a satellite in unpropitious circumstances and Satish Dawan called out a press meet and announced it was his fault, rather than his team members. The next satellite launch was a success, and he let Abdul Kalam run the show in the respective press meet.

The quality of sanguinity, humbleness, and level-headedness are all by-products of a cooperative mindset instilled in Satish Dawan while he was young, I'm sure.

Thus a society should do all it can to instill a sense of cooperation among its young people in almost any field due to the benefits it offers to an individual as well as the society on the whole.