Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society

Practicing morality is hard but necessary. Instincts formed as a result of years of evolution have put

human beings in a position to take actions without giving heed to the process of how the actions are taken.

Morality is a strong differentiator that can be taught to and developed among human beings which separates them

from the behaviors of other living organisms including dinosaurs, a trait that has helped to build strong and long-lasting societies. Doing what someone wants in adversity to save oneself only through logical reasoning could be catastrophic unless the person is able to differentiate between an emotional whim from a logically constructed reason to have taken a particular course of action. While it is very logical to copy answers from a fellow student in an examination, it is not morally right to do so. Notice how someone needs to know whether to copy in the first place, which requires sound logical reasoning to achieve what one wants - maximum marks.Maximum marks achieved without paying heed to how it has been achieved doesn't ensure long-term success.

Logical reasoning is an essential step in a decision-making process but it doesn't ensure a moral society is formed and maintained. Even if a society were to be built with processes that ensure it's survival, some of them which may include killing fellow human beings for food, clothing, and shelter are nothing short of deleterious to the society. On the contrary, having only moral principles without logically reasoning the decision-making process of any course of action stagnates the progress of a society. But the advantages of prioritizing morality has its advantages in that even if it doesn't bring in swathes of people into a society, it ensures that the resources required for building a society doesn't deplete. Morality acts as a set of speed breakers and signboards, based on which logical reasoning has to drive the progress of a society to ensure its sustenance.

Thus, teaching morality should be the foundation of education which is then prioritized and practiced to ensure that a moral society can be built based on sound logical reasoning of the decision making processes to build and sustain a society.