The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

We humans are social being. We live in a society and depend on each other for a better life. Our daily life goal is achieved through hard work and cooperation from other people. So, it's a great practice for a society to teach it's infants the sense of cooperation for their future endevors. On the other hand, the sense of competition might trigger them doing unethical works to achieve their goal.

First and foremost, learning cooperation helps a person to be a better and admired one in the society. Such people know the value of other person's priority and help them to do better. So, if a young person is taught the sense of cooperation he will end up being a great leader for the society. He will not be only good with his speech but also with his works. In every field he will help people and will get the same feedback, which will establish a healthy workplace. As an example, in Football, their is a better chance when a player passes the ball to one of his teammates rather than scoring by himself. Cooperation always brings positiveness in a person's mind and helps that person flourish in his field.

On the other side, when young people in a society are taught to be competitive they always crave for success and often end up being selfish and corrupt. They ignore the bigger happiness of mass people for their own glory. Competitive mind does not lay behind when it comes to a question of unethical work for achieving something. Such corrupted mind can not be an example of great leader or co-worker.

In contrast, for a quick developement people with competitive mind are necessary. They always think to improve and do better than the rest. They work hard for themselves and tries to bring success. then again success comes in better number when people work as a team, like building a space station is not an one man's job.

So, we can safely say that for a great leader or co-worker and for a healthy environment young people should have the sense of cooperation not competition.