The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

A nation becomes great by the perfect directions ordered by it's ruler and by preserving knowledge of artists and scientists.However, it is not that easy to conclude with a notion that rulers and artists mirror the whole nation.For that people of that very nation have to be self-dependent and solvent also.

Firstly, a nation is founded with a number of people including different interests, values, abilities and social recognition. To know the nation first and foremost we have to know the mass people. People who do not excite so much with their reputation and wealth. A nation can have leaders and artists who are famous worldwide.As an example, musicians of Pakistan are dominating Indian music industries but as a nation India has progressed way more than it's neighbor country. The reason is the mass people of India are doing great in their respective field that they surpassed Pakistan when the whole scenario is considered. Scientists invent products but failing to provide within their nation as people are not able to buy whether for high price or for the lack of knowledge to use it. Such a nation can only be tagged as a great nation, falsely.

In addition, when we consider a third world country that doesn't have a name on great nation list, can often see many such people who are rich, having international recognition, dominating the list of world's great rulers and so on. If we look at Bangladesh we will find such people who are reach and affluent enough to make an impression in first world's eye and scientists in numbers doing research in world finest of labs. Although this are inspiring, does not portray the condition of those people who are living below poverty line and surprisingly they numbered as half of the whole nation. So, again artists, rulers are failing to provide enough for a nation to become a great one.

In contrast, culture is a very important thing for a nation as without practicing it a nation can not survive long. Scientists, artists and rulers are important for a nation to progress and have a good impression in the outsiders eye. Without them a nation will subside even if they are rich enough in every prospect. Therefore, importance of those people can not be neglected either.

In conclusion, a nation is great because the normal people has made it great by their own ability and hard work. Big people are important for them to evolve but in bigger picture they justify their own greatness.