The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

A successful leader is one who understands the plight of his/her subjects and works towards the goal of mitigating them. The fundamental traits of a successful leader include copperation, empathy and also, contrary to the given claim, a sense of apppreciation for healthy competition.

Cooperation is definitely one of the most important traits for someone in a leadership position. A cooperative leader would always be trusted by his/her fellow beings. For example, a recent study involving a number of corporates showed how the retention and the happiness quotient go hand in hand with the increasing levels of cooperation provided by the upper management. The respondents said that they felt their needs were being taken care of by the company while working towards the vision of the firm.

While cooperation lets the leaders develop inter-personal bonds with those in their organization or society, it is not the only deciding factor in the creation of leadership characteristics in the youth. Without competition, there would be no reason or push to motivate the leader to outperform themselves. This would ultimately lead to the stagnation in the situation of the individuals in the society as well as the society as a whole.

However, competition can be both healthy and unhealthy. Healthy competition pushes the leaders to perform even better than they are doing now. Furthermore, it also instills a spirit of equal opportunities being available to everyone in the society. Unhealthy competition, however, ultimately leads to envy.

For example, in the Indian epic Mahabharata, Yuddhisthir is an epitome of a great leader in the epic. Duryodhana - the eldest of the Kauravas, strives to compete with the eldest Pandava Yuddhishthir to establish his own supremacy as the most powerful ruler in the region of Hastinapur. However, his sense of competition is striken by envy resulting from the prosperous kingdom of the Pandavas. Several analyses, including one by the renowned thinker Emmanuel Kant, have repeatedly underlined how Hastinapur could have prospered further had Duryodhana's spirit of competition been healthy. The analyses say that healthy competition would have led both the leaders to strive for improving their own selves, while also provide the best for their subjects.

In a nutshell, it can be said that cooperation and healthy competition are the two pillars of successul leadership in a society or organization.