Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and suppor

Both military and arts are important to a country. The military positioning of a country is important with respect to the security of the country and the citizens. Arts has a twofold importance. On one hand, it is important for the preservation of the socio-cultural aspects of a country, and on the other hand, art maintains the creativity among people. It provides a way to express oneself and is an important means to grow intellectually.

Arts has an impact on the nation's economy too. In today's world, sharing and savouring the art forms across borders has become very common with the advent of technology. This not only helps in dissipating information about a country's culture but also in adding to the economy of the country in the form of revenue from sale of arts (movies, books, paintings, music records etc) as well as by increasing revenue from tourism.

For instance, it is not a mere coincidence that, in the late 1990s when the television was just reaching the houses in the developing countries, the youth of these countries was dreaming the American dream of moving to the US for growth and better life. The propeller for the American dream were the various art forms available to the youth. The movies, the American setting in the books and even the lyrics of the songs helped them visualise how America might be the place that helps one realize their dreams.

While it is important to invest in both military and arts, it might be an overstatement to say that a

government must at all times invest as much in the arts as in the military. Had we been living in a utopian world where the countries were at peace and there were no wars, it would have made sense to invest wholly in arts , since there would have been no use of a military.

On a contrary, given today's situation of the world where a number of countries are at war, it becomes ever more crucial to have a well-knit and well-deployed military network across the country, particularly at the borders. A sound military system is an eminent proofing against any kind of attack over a country, be it by another nation or by terrorists. In the last decade itself, militaries of a number of countries have successfully curbed or fought against an attack on their country by terrorists. For example, the 2008 Mumbai attack in India, where a number of people were kept hostages in more than one building, and the terrorists were causing havoc on the streets and the railway stations, would have been impossible to stop without a quick-to-react military system. A well trained military is indispensable not only to fight the terror attacks, but also prevent or fight attack by another country.

Although it is necessary to invest in both arts and military, the amount of investing is a rather subjective choice. It not only depends on the social, political structure of the country but also on the macro-problems that are being faced by the rest of the world, like terrorism. In a nutshell, it can be said that investing as much in the arts as in the military is not a universally true solution, and can only be resolved by considering the various factors affecting the social, economical, political and security perspectives of the country.