A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position

The recommendation suggests that all the students in a school must be taught the same national curriculum until they enter college. Typically, the schools are affiliated to some or the other board and the curriculum taught in the school varies with the board of affiliation.

Not only the board, but the quality of education in the schools also varies with the economic conditions of the school. For example, private schools that typically charge a higher fee provide better education and all-round development opportunities as compared to publically run schools. Requiring a common national curriculum ensures that every child gets equal opportunities in education, and limits the capitalist effect of money when it comes to schooling and education.

However, it makes sense to have a broadly uniform curriculum while also accomodating regional and cultural differences. Scientifically, it has been proven that a child's intellectual growth and grasping power is the maximum in his/her mother-tongue, because that is the language the child has been listening to and learning since a very young age. Teaching a child in an alien language also requires the child to learn the language first, thus slowing the intellectual growth till the time the new language has been learnt by the child.

For example, in a country as vast and as diverse as India, there are significant differences in the languages spoken by the people living in the various parts of the country. In India, every school has a compulsory local language as a subject alongwith English as another compulsory language subject. The compulsion of English resonates with the idea of having a common national curriculum while teaching the local language helps the child adjust well in his/her surroundings and learn things quickly.

In conclusion, it can be said, with certain reservations, that all the schools of a nation should require its students to study broadly the same national curriculum until they enter college. However, the curriculum should also accommodate cultural differences of the people living in the nation.