A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

While it is nice to think that a nation should have unified standards, I believe it to be impractical with regards to education systems. Requiring students to study the same national curriculum up to a high school level may be difficult to implement and may also inadvertently hinder student performances at the college level.

The United States itself contains a vibrant community of international college students. In order for these students to pursue tertiary education in a foreign country, they are required to sit that particular country's exams. An applicant interested in American colleges will unanimously sit the SAT, and non-native English speakers will also have to take TOEFL. Imagine if a nation requires the same education curriculum -- what should high schools focus on? It is impossible for students to have the same college ambitions, so preparing students for foreign exams wastes the time of those interested in domestic colleges, but ignoring foreign standard testing will leave other students underprepared. Standardized exams such as the SAT are also reflective of a country's education institutions, therefore US colleges are also very unlikely to accept students without any familiarity with US testings. The only way to solve this problem is for schools to develop different curriculums that tailor to students with different college pursuits.

Another issue which needs to be taken into consideration is that many high school graduates do not attend college. If high schools all follow the same curriculum, high schools graduates might possibly end up with education levels that are replicas of each other. Imagine employers faced with thousands of the same resume - there will be no way for applicants to stand out. The job search also becomes more arduous for high school graduates. High schools who develop their own curriculum might have the opportunity to specialize in different subjects. For example, The Bronx High School of Science is very suggestive of their school's strength. Students who have no college plans may then choose to attend high schools pertaining to their area of interest, thereby widening their employment opportunities.

Narrowing the scope to domestic students alone, one may argue that since students require the same standardized test in order to apply to college, it is only reasonable for national curriculum to be uniformed. As logical as the idea may be, we should also keep in mind that the standards of teaching at each school are also drastically different. Even if every student studies the same national curriculum prior to college, the result of their performance still varies significantly depending on instruction skills and each individual attitude towards studying. Instead of enforcing a stringent curriculum, why not allow schools to develop their own curriculum according to teacher qualifications and methods of teaching which they find to be most efficacious for students?

Ultimately, I believe nations should not implement identical curriculums until students attend college, because doing so negatively impacts students' future performances in the work force or in college. Allowing schools to develop their individualized curriculum leads to higher chances of specialization in certain fields of study, therefore producing more well-learned students.