Oftentimes, the results of a particular action are not of consequence; rather, it is the way we go about the action that matters most.

We frequently hear that with every task we do, it is not about the outcome, but rather the process which we experience, leading up to the end goal. Although it is rather poetic to think this way, that all is well as long as you have tried your best, I contrastingly find that this is almost never the case.

Mark Zuckerberg, founder of Facebook, notorious college dropout, is a classic example of why the results of his action matters more than the process. As the creator of one of the most powerful social media platforms, no one seemed to think twice about the way he went about to achieve his success when Facebook first surfaced. Internet users were eager to jump onto the opportunity to connect with friends across the globe, causing the website to culminate to new heights. However, what about Zuckerberg's team, who initially worked with him on this nascent idea? How many Facebook users actually bothered to think twice about exactly how Zuckerberg achieved his success?

Another more grounded example is the GRE. Who is to care about the process which the test takers endured in order to achieve a particular score on the exam? Our capability is entiringly measured by a number assigned to each person at the end of the test, and we are further assessed by graduate programs based on that same meaningless number. Apart from the writing section, the exam is purely multiple choice. Has the ETS ever thought that there might be a story behind each score? What if test takers accidentally typed in a wrong number? What if a negligible mathematical error was made at the very last minute? What if the test taker was going through personal trauma, leading to the poor performance on the test day? Still, the process is irrelevant, as we are only evaluated by the result we are able to produce.

One may argue that the actions do matter, but I tend to believe that actions only matter when the result is impressive, because only then do we begin to pay attention to these actions. Vince Gilligan, the creator of Breaking Bad, worked small jobs at publishing companies and took on small writing jobs before crafting his breakthrough television program. The show summoned millions of fans from across the globe, but who paid attention? Before he was able to produce a tangible result, it did not matter that he attended the highly prestigious Tisch School of the Arts.

Although the actions leading up to the results matter, I believe they simply serve as the stepping stone, as we frequently notice only successful results are laudable. Without the results, actions might as well be futile.