Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Every artist has a story behind their success. The struggling and pained artists are among the most popular motifs in painters, musicians, and other performers. Although artists frequently live a difficult life, they allow their talent to propel their eminence, and government funding will only contribute negatively to their art.

We often hear the phrase "art imitates life," and artists who come from hardships create art that comes from a genuine place in their lives. Vincent van Gogh had nothing but his art for comfort and support, and the pain and desperation which he conveys through his paintings are what makes them invaluable today. According to his brother, van Gogh sustained himself with only bread, water, and coffee, saving the majority of his money for art supplies. Struggling with poverity, van Gogh had the incentive to keep creating art that would sell. With no materialistic concerns, he turned to nature and created masterpieces such as "Starry Night" and "Sunflowers." If government funding was available to artists, ingenius artists may lose their creativity and incentive to seek inspiration, despite obtaining a stable source of financial support. Art is often unique and intimate, and is a derivative of a personal journey. By funding the artists, they lose a large step in their experience, which affects the results of the arts produced.

Artists who create their successes independently are also likely to be more disinterested in government. Their art is a reflection of themselves, devoid of outside influences. Early communist Russia produced talented writers, but their books were often banned as a result of government intervention. "The Heart of a Dog" audaciously tackles the 'brainwashing' of the Soviet Union's citizens, but masked the issue as a work of fiction. The book was consequently banned from the nation. Of course, freedom of speech is prominent in most societies, but government funded art may reserve the right to impose restrictions on artists. Imagine receiving government funding, yet creating art which condemns the government -- such a case seems unlikely. Artist who are desperate might still opt to receive funding and compromise their art, but the integrity of their work is lost.

An advocate for government funding may argue that artists will be benefitted, and I agree that it is true only when funding is provided for the promotion of the art. Interference before and during the creation of an artpiece might lead to the artist's biasness, but allocating funding for the promotion of their completed artwork will assist them to disseminate art to the public. Viable promotions attract larger audiences, which earns more revenue for the artists to create more art, and the general public is also exposed to contemporary artwork that they might not have discovered otherwise.

Ultimately, government funding may seem like an appropriate solution for artists, but may consequently have a detrimental effect of their art. Removing government intervention allows artist to create pieces that are more reflective of their most authentic selves without restrictions imposed on them.