Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Innovative thinking and revitalisation is essential to any enterprise. Leaders must think creatively in order to adjust to the rapidly developing world around us, but if those in power is capable of constantly adjusting their thinking to keep up with global advancements, there should be no need for their stepping down to be compulsory.

We can all agree that even the most ubiquitous aspects of our lives are constantly developing and evolving. There is no stop to technological advancements, new political policies, or economical fluctions. We expect those in power of different industries to lead their respective enterprise to success as they strive to be the leaders of their field. For each one of them to climb to an authoritative position, they more than likely have demonstrated the innovation and ingenuity to keep their industries moving forward. Mark Zuckerberg created a new social media platform that made communication more effortless, Steve Jobs created a piece of technology that made our lives more conveninent, and the President of the United States was won his election because the new policies which he intended to implement moved an entire nation. However, despite how remarkable each of these leaders were initially, they are all aware that if their thinking does not advance, they would not be able to advance, and in the case of the President, has a chance for his power to be stripped. The incentive to keep their leadership position acts as a catalyst to constantly reshape their thinking, and if leaders possess this adaptive ability, there should be no need to forcefully remove them from power after five year regardless of their performance.

The possibility of a termination of their leadership can sometimes compel leaders to work harder. Those in power are put in their positions because there are people who believe in their abilities. Once they lose their support, they will almost surely be replaced. Threatened by potentially being stripped of power should they do a subpar job, leaders are more likely to listen to the voice of the people which they represent. Although the President of the United States is required to step down after two terms, the election after his first term forces him to do his best in the first four years. If for any reason the public loses faith in him, he knows that it will become unlikely for him to win his second election. However, if leaders know that they are forced to step down regardless of how they perform, it might be easy to lose the drive and motivation to keep improving.

Another complication is that thousands of enterprises are private businesses, which the leaders are not only the representative of the businesses, but are also the founders. Returning to a previously mentioned examples, in lieu of the Facebook scandal in which the website was accused of collecting user information, the thought of asking Mark Zuckerberg to step down as CEO of Facebook might still sound ridiculous and improbable. The reason being that he is the founder of the enterprise, and how the business performs is a reflection of him, and no one else. With several hundred competing social media platforms, Mark Zuckerberg will devise means to assert Facebook's dominance. His brand is personal and most meaningful to him, therefore he will do his best to revitalize his business. Suppose that Zuckerberg was actually forced to step down. The next leader might see Facebook as merely another enterprise and does not input the same amount of effort into ensuring its success.

Ultimately, although enterprise needs revitalization to achieve constant success, those in power are capable of adjusting their thinking to ensure that. Instead of forcing them to step down, they shoud be permitted to keep their position as long as they demonstrate outstanding performance as a leader.