Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

A nation's major cities are often the first impressions we have of the country, so naturally it is common for the government to invest in the city in order for it to thrive. We may mistakenly believe that what meets the eye is an accurate representative of the country. Major cities are good indicators of a country's power and advancement, but loses its nation's cultures along the way; therefore, if the government's aim is to preserve cultures and traditions, then giving financial support to major cities will not be effective.

Cultural traditions are frequently compromised in order to make modern advancements within the city. A country like China has over five thousand years of history, which includes its unique religious beliefs, architecture, artwork, holidays, clothes, and food. Shanghai, one of its most dominating cities, is known for its leading financial industry, impressive skylines, and eclectic people -- none of which gives any indication of China's culture. Culture is commonly found in history, but various parts of Shanghai and Beijing have torn down historic buildings to pave way to modern skylines that can compete with New York City. The financial support given to major cities is more than likely used to develop new technology that advances the country as global leaders, thereby depriving history and culture of the attention which they deserve.

Major cities are also receive uncountable numbers of immigrants yearly. As foreigners inundate the cities for better work opportunities, education, and higher standards of living, they also bring their hometown traditions with them. Global cultures begin intertwining with each other within the city, and the traditional aspects of the country can easily be misconstrued or eroded. For instance, Caribbean islands boasts residents from around the world. When you visit the islands, you will quickly find out that their vibrant community led to the celebration of every culture -- Emancipation Day, Indian Arrival Day, Shouter Baptist Day, Corpus Christi, and more. Over time, a new culture is formed, which takes into consideration immigrants and their beliefs.

Culture is more specific than simply the city itself. National holidays, foods, historical landmarks, religion, are all factors that need to be considered to gain a hollistic understanding of a country's culture. Instead of making equivocal investments in a city, where the funds can easily be used for non-cultural developments, governments will benefit more from financially supporting artwork, and promoting traditions to the public. Fortunately, smaller cities with less population movement are not as severely tampered with, and remnants of history can be found. If the central hubs of traditional culture can be identified and they are given the funds to preserve and restore history, more people will be attracted to these locations to learn about cultures.

Ultimately, if a nation's priority is to preserve traditional cultures, making financial investments in major cities is unlikely to be the solution. A major city is frequently not an accurate representation of a country's tradition, so governments are better off investing in other cultural aspects rather than the broad city.