In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In our rapidly developing world, advancements in all fields are made through impactful contributions that propels each field forward. However, to claim that these invaluable contributions are made based on precendence is faulty, because otherwise innovations of any type would be inexorable.

On closer examination, we might find that significant contributions are made because individuals are unsatisfied with existing achievements in a particular field. Rather than using past accolades as motivation, it might have the opposite effect inadvertently. For example, we might consider it difficult to live a day without the use of communicative devices, such as our phones and computers. If we trace back to a period without technology, we might easily recognize that our ancestors resorted to using pen and paper to communicate with people whom they are not in immediate contact with. Eventually, someone found this archaic process to be inefficient, and his disdain with the current resources - pen, paper, and a messenger - led to the invention of telephones. When telephones became inconvenient due to its lack of portability, the cellular phone was invented. A rippling effect is thus created based off our unsatisfaction and insatiable need for advancement, paving way for more commendable contributions.

Whether the contribution is in terms of financial support or intellectual property, the benefactor almost always demonstrate an interest in that field. This interest is hardly ever piqued by previous contributions. Although we indisputably applaud breakthrough achievements regardless of the field, it hardly serves as a motivation for us to contribute if we have no previous interest in the field. When Mark Zuckerberg invented Facebook, he might have been influenced by existing platforms such as MSN. However, we should not forget that he was also a Computer Science college student, who possibily noted a deficit in aspects of MSN. As mentioned previously, unsatiable human desire, along with his interest in the Computer Science field, created Facebook. Assuming that he had no knowledge of programming languages and no money to hire software engineers to carry out his vision, the most he can perhaps do is to complain about what MSN lacks.

Anomalies may exist, where individuals are encouraged by existing achievements. As an active feminist and a brave voice for female rights, Malala received the Noble Peace Prize. Undoubtedly, she has heard of the contributions of other advocates for human right, such as Mandela, and Ghandi. Leaders in the past have used their voice to fight for justice, and are certainly inspiration and role models for the leaders of the future. Under their influences, Malala found her own voice. However, if we live in a world of perfect equality, or if she never found her passion for activism, perhaps we would have never known her intrepid contributions.

Overall, significant contributions can be made to any field with the prerequisite of interest and desire for the field of study. Although past achievement are motivational, it is hardly enough to propel newer contributions on its own.