Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

When we think of scandals, we frequently associate it solely with the shameful and sometimes unspeakable side of a person. Scandals have negatives connotations that public figures struggle to keep hidden. Scandals may repulse us, but I agree with the statement that they are useful, as it is one of the few ways we can gain an insight into who our beloved celebrities truly are.

The statement that "actions speak louder than words" holds true in the case of scandals, as scandals allows the audience to see the problems of which no speaker can convince us. As a famous stand-up comedian, there is no denying that Louis C.K. is bold, talented and articulate in his jokes, which was how he achieved high accolades and a large fanbase over his career. As a talented speaker, audiences allowed his words to misguide them and we sometimes forget that his effortless speech gives no indication of him as person. It was only after his sexual misconduct scandals surfaced that we realized there is a large moral deficit with him. Without the scandal, it might have been difficult to believe that he has little respect for women as we are not only fooled by his talented work in comedy, but we may also ignore the verbal accusations of others.

One may argue that some scandals are based on lies, as celebrities attempt to draw attention to themselves through every way possible. Public figures fabricate false news and arrange fake paparazzi pictures in order to get the public talking about them. It might be difficult to think that these scandals can also be considered useful, but they are also indicators of a person's character. If a celebrity can disregard their dignity, shame, and self-respect for attention, perhaps it suggests that they are masking a lack of artistic talent, and they may not be suitable role models which we seek.

Ultimately, scandals reshape the way we think by directing our attention into areas that are not overtly revealed. Scandals can reveal a person's character and subconscious beliefs, which are easily masked by their caliber of work, or their ability to convince us through speech. Although scandals are fabricated for fame, it consequently shows a person's values, thereby helping us to judge them holistically as a person.