Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced

The argument quotes the advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company saying that the reason for their reduced viewership was the lack of public awareness about movies of good quality. The director concludes that the problem can be solved by spending a larger share on advertising from next year. However, the director's recommendation is questionable given the lack of a diligent analysis of the marketing department's report.

First and foremost, the argument only subjectively mentions that the number of viewers are fewer than in any other year. There is neither information available in terms of the number of viewers compared to the other years, nor any detail of how many previous years did the report consider for coming to this conclusion. Without this information, it becomes difficult to understand the scale of the problem, and also to comprehend what is the expected increase in the budget that the director seeks from next year.

Secondly, in terms of the quality of the reviews, the director is very explicit and specific in stating that the positive reviews are about specific Super Screen movies. However, the director fails to cross-check if these specific movies were related in any manner. It would be incorrect to draw a parallel between the positive reviews of specific movies and derive conclusions for all the other movies, without checking the data for any underlying bias.

For example, they could all be the same genre, in which case it would be faulty of the director to conclude that the there is no problem with the quality of (all) the Super Screen movies. In a case where all the movies with positive reviews that are being considered in the report fall under the same genre, it calls for further investigation to see what was the viewership and the reviews of the movies in the other genres.

On the other hand, these movies with positive reviews could all have been allocated a high portion of the marketing budget share compared to the other Super Screen movies. In such a case, the argument falls weak by not analysing the potential impact of inceasing the marketing budget for the other movies before going ahead with the broader recommendation of increasing the advertising share by Super Screen.

The director could have solidified the recommendation by seeking answers to questions about the credibility of the report and how exactly did the marketing department reach the various conclusions. Without any of these, the recommendation of the advertising director is flimsy and refutable.

To conclude, it can be said that the advertising director's recommendation is too hasty in nature, and lacks evidence and support to back it up.