"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

The argument quotes the manager of a television station stating that their late night program has devoted increased time to national news instead of weather and local news. However, because of increased complaints and dropping advertising revenue, the manager's recommendation is to restore time devoted to weather and local news to avoid losing any further advertising revenues.

The argument lacks credible sources to back the claims made and therefore lacks reliability.

First and foremost, there is no information about the change in viewership with the change in the late-night program's content. The argument does not consider if there has been an increase in the viewership and the quality of the late-night program.

Secondly, the argument also fails to analyse if this increase in the number of complaints pertaining to weather and local-news coverage is absolute in number or a phenomenon relative to the improved quality of the late night show. The manager is lacking statistical precision by neither providing an estimate of the television viewers for the late-night program nor by providing percentage of viewers complaining about the coverage.

Moreover, there is no description of the nature of consumer complaints apart from the mention of 'most' of them being concerned with the coverage of weather and local news. The argument could have been more credible by providing deeper insights and an in-depth analysis of these complaints.

Furthermore, there is no evidence relating the cancelation of advertising contracts with the content of the late night program. Without any proof, it becomes doubtful if these cancelations were truly related to the late-night program or were merely a correlation. The argument could have been stronger by showing a causality between these two, if any.

In conclusion, the argument falls flat in terms of lacking evidence to support the recommendation of switching back to the local and weather news. It would have been strengthened by considering the aforementioned points, and providing supporting proof for the claims made in the argument.