"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition." - Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or dis

Social structures rely on the principles of cooperation and competition. Humanity can prosper due to the cooperation between different individuals leading to results unattainable without working together and due to competition leading to the best possible outputs. Today, people wonder whether future leaders should be taught to be more cooperative or more competitive. A competitive mindset has its advantages but is not as good as a cooperative one as outlined in the following discussion.

Some people argue, that we should educate our children to be competitive rather than to be cooperative, because competition is the foundation of liberalism and has led our society through the industrial revolution which put humanity forward. However, this magnificent result would not have been possible if people had not cooperated. Industrialisation is the result of specialisation, meaning that people no longer produced goods on their own like peasants have done before the revolution. On the contrary, many of them worked together to produce a single good, where each individual was specialized to conduct a specific step in the production process. This example shows that cooperation is the foundation of our modern economy. Furthermore, it is not only important on the micro-scale discussed before, but also on the macro-scale; cooperation between companies has led to specialisation as well. Therefore, the leaders of tomorrow should be taught to be cooperative.

Another argument that people bring forward when arguing for teaching young people the importance of competition is, that this often brings about the best results in us as can be seen in sports competitions which lead to ever greater world records. However, these achievements are only possible due to teamwork. A race car driver for example may win each of his races and obtain new lap records, but this would never be possible without his team, which helps him to prepare physically and mentally for the races and cares for his car. This illustrates the importance of cooperation once more and is one of the reasons why cooperation should be valued higher than competition as it is its foundation.

All in all, the question whether we should value competition or cooperation as a value for future leaders higher is a complex one. Competition has shown to be necessary to reach the best results as can be seen in sports and industry. On the other hand, one who wants to compete needs to cooperate in order to be successful! This implies that cooperation is more fundamental than competition, which is why future leaders should be taught to have a cooperative mindset.