Super Screen MoviesThe following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company."According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company recommends for his business to spend more money for informing the public about their films thorugh advertising. He argues that this will lead to an increase in viewers of Super Screen-produced movies, because in the preceding year the ratings from movie reviewers for Super Screen films increased while viewer numbers dropped to an all-time low. The advertising director makes a few unstated assumptions in his reasoning. Therfore, a few questions need to be answered before his plan can be evaluated. Three of these questions and how the answers to them influence the director's argument will be discussed below.

The first question that needs to be answered is in which theaters the movies from Super Screen are presented? Or to put it differently, are the movies still presented in the same theaters as in the years before? If the answer to this question is yes, then it is advisable to invest more money in advertising the movies, since availability has not changed. On the contrary, if the question's answer is no, the changes in availability of Super Screen films should be investigated first. It could well be, that the drop in viewers is actually a consequence of them not being able to attend the film due to a lack of theatres showing the film.

The second question is whether the mixture of reviewers is the same as in the years before? It could well be that the genre of Super Screen's films has changed, such that it is now only appealing to a smaller audience and is also rated by different reviewers. This would, for example, be the case if Super Screen only produced action films before, which are accesible to a larger audience and now merely produces avantgadistic films only appealing to a small amount of the population. This change in style would also have led to a change in the composition of reviewers, because it is now mostly viewed by people having a very specialised taste in films. Often those people tend to give better evaluations for those films as they know what they can expect and are already very familiar with their corresponding film genre. This would explain why viewer numbers have dropped while reviews have gotten better.

The third question that should be answered before the argument could be evaluated is how this year was different in relation to preceding years? Was the weather different? Are people generally attending less films? Answering these questions can help evaluate the argument, since often sunny weather conditions lead to a drop in film attendance, since people want to spend their free time outside in this case.

Should the advertising director answer the above questions, his argument could be evaluated more accurately. Depending on the answers to these questions a greater expenditure for advertisment should be considered, the accessibility should be enhanced, or the film genre should be changed to reach a larger audience.