Claim: Any piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate.

It has been thought about for ages which information we can take as reliable and which we cannot. According to the ancient philosopher Rene Descartes we should question anything, even if one and one equals two. Today, a lot of facts that people thought of to be true turn out to be false in the end. Therefore, they suggest to distrust every piece of information. The following two reasons will show why this mindset may be harmful and lead to a stop in development.

First, mistrusting every new piece of information will lead to absurd situations and should only be considered if one has good reasons for doubt. The former minister for inner safety in Germany, Mr. Maassen, for example, was shown a video of some nazis harrassing refugees in Germany. But, he claimed this video to be fake, although there was no reason for him to do so. Furthermore, he never gave any reason why he assumed it to be fake and got fired form his position as minister for inner safety in the end. This demonstrates, that mistrust should always stand on solid grounds, which is why we cannot mistrust everything. Just because we do not know about everything.

Secondly, general distrust will lead to a negative attitude and gives rise to abstruse theories. People who distrust everything they hear often tend to fantasize their own theories on how the facts really align. Some people, for example, think of alternate facts, because they distrust the general accepted information about some subject. An example for this are 'clouds' which are emitted by airplanes; the general understanding is that these stripes are condensated water which has been exhausted by the airplane. A few individuals, on the contrary, believe that these emissions will lead to health problems and are manipulated by the government to change our minds. This example shows, that mistrusting every piece of information can lead to harmful attitudes towards some things and should therefore be avoided.

Some might argue that in most areas of science facts cannot be proven but only be disproven. Therefore, every new discovery should be viewed with criticism, which is a good advice. But, mistrusting every piece of information will ultimately lead to a denial of reality. This is the reason why it is a good thing to mistrust facts which intuitively seem wrong but mistrusting everything can be very harmful to one's own development.