The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University."Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significa

The president of Humana University argues, that the number of students at his university will increase, when online degree programs are offered there. Furthermore, he states, that this will lead to a decrease of university expenditures. He underscores his premises with the example of Omni University, where enrollment in online degree courses has increased by 50 percent and costs for student dormitories and classrooms have decreased last year. In the following paragraphs I will discuss two of the assumptions the president makes and explain how they affect his argument.

First, the president assumes that Humana University and Omni University teach the same courses, i.e. subjects which are similarly appealing to students for online studies. For example, Omni University could only be giving analytical online courses such as physics or mathematics, which are particularly suited for online study as they do not involve a lot of discussion. This is completely different for social science courses, which mostly depend on discussions between the professor and his students. Thus, if Humana University mostly offers courses which heavily depend on personal interactions, the reaction of the students to online degree courses from this university could be less than for the courses offered at Omni University.

Furthermore, the president assumes that the overall university expenditures will be reduced by offering the online courses. This can only be true if students would take the online courses from their homes and not use the university’s dormitories anymore. But, even if this assumption proves to be right, the president has not explained how this will reduce the maintenance costs for the dormitory buildings, as they will still be part of the university and need to be cared for. Further, the professor has not taken into account the costs for initiating and maintaining the online degree programs, such as servers, electronic equipment and additional trainings for professors to give such courses. Thus, when stating that online programmes will reduce the overall costs for the university because of reduced costs for dormitories at Omni University, he is comparing apples with pears.

The university president’s argument cannot be properly evaluated as it stands now due to the unproven implications the president makes. If the president would provide more evidence to support his unstated assumptions, the argument could be properly evaluated. Such evidence includes the type of courses offered at Omni University for online degree studies and the courses at Humana University which shall be offered online. Additionally, the president should give an estimate for the costs involved in creating the online study programmes and should provide information how unused dormitories and classrooms can compensate for the maintenance cost of the buildings encompassing them.