The best way for society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

Equal parts of cooperation and competition are mandatory leadership qualities for a good leader.

Cooperation within the organization is required to instill a spirit of harmony. Tasks, especially those with deadlines will be completed faster if it is split among group members assigned to the task according to their skillset. Each group member should be able to approach each other and also the leader for help or clarifications, without hesitation. Thus, the talent pool in the group would be efficiently utilised. Working together also helps in putting forth fresher ideas to the table. Making this a competition among themselves would arguably aid in finishing the task faster but would not result in the best results.

A competitive spirit is essential because it provides a drive to perform better. For example, in the run for elections, when parties compete with each other, they try to do their best to understand the needs of the people and develop strategies and policies to solve their problems, in an effort to convince the people to vote for them and not the opposing party. The Opposition party to the Ruling Party in a government would analyse and point out flaws in the ruling party's legislations in the spirit of competition and it would help in the inception of better and more efficient laws and policies. Similarly, competition amongst companies is important as it drives each company to set high targets and work towards achieving them, in order to beat their competition. Thus, they end up performing better than they would if they didn't have a competitor. The idea of competitive exams were similarly put forth to drive students to work harder and put in their level best effort to beat the competition. It helps institutions filter out the best candidates who have it in them to work hard and hence produce results.

But, it is essential to point out that the competition should be healthy. For example, if one company spies on the other, in order to glean their secrets, it is not indicative of a healthy competition. It would eventually sabotage the performance of both companies, as opposed to how they would have performed if they had engaged in healthy competition. Similarly, a student cheating on an exam is one who hasn't understood the benefits of the spirit of healthy competition, choosing to take tht supposed easy way out.

Finally, it is important to note that the world is increasingly becoming a battlefield with "survival of the fittest", with rapid-paces developments in each and every field. In such a situation, it is important to keep calm and retain equal parts of cooperation and competition in the right spirit for success.