The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

A leader is supposed to have virtues like confidence, an ability to think beyond the scope, a positive attitude towards the welfare of masses, taking into account the best interests of all. It is important for leaders to lead their teams by setting the right examples. These examples can be from a number of areas like morals, ethics, intelligence, smartness, ability to handle stress and generate positive outcomes from it etc. When a leader sets the right examples for his/her team, the team becomes motivated and works with positive energy towards the achievement of their goals.

We live in a society wherein people with common goals tend to work together for achieving them. When people are instilled with quality of cooperation then it will be a positive environment for people to work towards the greater good rather than keeping an eye on their own selfish motives. Although competition encourages people to put their best foot forward because they are only working for themselves at that point in time, however, a society that is driven by competition cannot be considered a healthy place to be a part of. It will be full of the air of negativity and jealousy. People who are driven by an urge to win in a competition often put down others to fulfil their selfish motives. This does not do well for the greater good.

Every sector around us is in a fast growing pace. In an environment of continuous enhancement, be it in any field, it does not do well for an individual to be driven by the sheer motive of competition. Rather, cooperation is the necessity of the hour for everyone to grow together. When organisations, institutions, firms, governments, industries take greater good of society into consideration then their energies, motives, plannings etc are only directed towards one direction o - the growth of all. They can provide their undivided attention towards one common objective. However, if the same institutions are only apprehensive about their personal selfish motives, then they will have to put in extra efforts in the form of their time, resources, plannings to be a part of the competition which involves bringing the competitor down. This way, the institutions will be unable to put their complete potential towards the ultimate goal.

It is necessary for a society to instil in its young people, an ability to live in cooperation and harmony. When such virtues are taught to the young minds from an early age itself, they can test their validity from an early age by practising them in a number of situations that they might face in their days to come. Children should be taught to help each other grow and not cut the roots of each other to be part of some competition that will only last for time being.