"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In order to provide recommendations to make something better, it is necessary to clearly identify the shortcomings of the past so that corrective measures can be targeted in the right direction. Any movie has a storyline that brings about a message which is directed towards a particular section of the society. This section of the society that relates itself to the story of the movie. In most of the cases, movies achieve popularity in that particular section of the society. It is important to identify the movies released by Super Screen, their target audience and the marketing strategy that was employed to popularise the movie at the time of its release. An analysis that is prepared by taking into consideration both of these factors, can be considered valid. Such an analysis can be taken into account for formulating corrective steps towards eradicating the existing problem of Super Screen production house.

It is important to know the target section of the viewers that were considered by the marketing team while making the reports of their each and every movie. Super Screen might have produced movies belonging to a number of genres. It is necessary to check if the marketing team has taken into consideration the various factors that might have affected the viewership of the movie at the time when it was released. For example, if the movie was animated and its target section was children aged 2-10 years, then it is important to check if the movie was released at the time when their exams were around the corner. In such scenarios, irrespective of how critically acclaimed the movie must have been or how great it was marketed, the movie will still have fewer than anticipated viewership owing to the exams of the children. Hence it is important to clarify with the marketing team of Super Screen if they have taken into account such factors regarding each and every movie that Super Screen has produced in the past year.

There might be a possibility that some movies with great storylines and highly appreciated by the movie critics did not receive the expected popularity among viewers due to lack of proper marketing. In such cases, it is important to evaluate the kind of marketing that was employed when such a movie was about to be released by Super Screen. The marketing strategies need to be on-point to help movies reach out to the audience. Hence, the question if an allocation of more budget is needed or not, should be followed by the answer to the question of how efficiently the previously allocated budget was put to use and if there were any shortcomings to efficiently use that budget. Hence, those shortcomings need to be eradicated as well. Otherwise, irrespective of the amount of budget allocated, if the marketing strategies of Super Screen are not in the right direction, then all of it can go to waste in the future as well, adding little or no benefit to the existing problem of Super Screen produced movies.