The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields,is by instilling in them a since of cooperation, not competition.

The presented argument is a complicated topic. It is true that cooperation within a large business or industry is of value, but it should not negate competion. Comepetition is arguably more important than coorperation as coorperation leads to conformity, and a fear of new ideas. Additionally, it is competition that creates leaders.

While coorperation is a useful atribute in any place of work, healthy competition is what allows employees to rise to the role of leadership in a company. When an employer is looking for a new general manager, they are going to choose candidates who stand out in the normal working environment. If people are taught from a young age to solely cooperate rather than stand out, the employees will all look the same and it will be nearly impossible to find a new leader. On the other hand, it is, of course, possible that copetition may become too heavy and lead to animosity amongst co-workers. However, as long as there is no overt competition that distracts from the employees` work, I can see no problem with healthy competition. Furthermore, one`s work should speak for itself. This is to say that no one employee should be making a show of competition.

When young people grow up learning that cooperation is more valuable than competition, they may develop a fear of authority. They may not feel comfortable voicing their concerns to their employer due to their tendency towards cooperation. Of course respecting and cooperating with an employer and other employees is an important part of having a job, but without some competition, the employees will never have the chance to be leaders. Leadership is only achieved by those who are brave enough to do just a little bit more than their peers. As long as the competition is healthy and there is a respectful amount of cooperation, competition is an important part of life-especially in the workplace.

Finally, in a society of cooperation, there would be a lack of new ideas. Some examples of valuable competition from history include Edison vs. Tesla, Steve Jobs vs. Bill Gates, America vs. Russia in the Space Race, and, of course, the elections held to determine the best leader of a country. If it weren`t for these competitions to create the best form of electricity, the best technology, or to be the first on the moon, we would live in a very boring and conformed society full of people too afraid to speak out about new ways to do things or new ideas for the future.

In conclusion, while, competition for leadership in an industry or politics can get ugly, if there was only cooperation, very few, if any, people would challenge the status quo. Healthy competition is often what leads to the technology we use everyday and the lives we are able to live.