All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Often when a child is enrolled in school, their parents have opportunities to volunteer at the school. However, this is typically by choice and not a requirement of the school. By volunteering it their child`s classroom when they are able, parents not only have the opportunity to spend one-on-one time with their child, but they are also able to form bonds with other parents and their children.

One of the primary benefits of a parent volunteering in their child`s classroom is that they get the chance to converse with other parents. It is often the case that when parents are friends, their children become friends and vice versa. This dynamic can create lifelong friendships between parents and children. As an example, my twin brother and mother both consider their best friends to be a mother and son who they met on our first day of pre-kindergarten. These friendships have lasted nearly twenty years because both mothers happened to be helping out in the classroom that day.

Of course not all parents have the time to volunteer regularly in their child`s school. Research suggests that eighty percent of mothers with children in school have continued to work. Therefore, a regular commitment to the school can be difficult. This is why parents should be required to volunteer in their child`s classroom, but only once or twice a year and only if they are able to do so. Ironically, however, in some cases it is only when the parent is able to volunteer that the child is able to spend one on one time with their parent.

When a parent is able to volunteer, they can create memories with their child that last a lifetime. In the business of life, it is sometimes difficult for parents and children to find the time to be together. This is where volunteering can be a benefit. By being in their child`s classroom, parents are able to take a rare step into their child`s world. This can help create a mutual understanding and appreciation between the child and parent in a similar way to take your child to work day. When the parent is able to experience a bit of their child`s everyday life and is able to meet their friends they have a better understanding of what the child is excited or upset about when they come home from school.

To recapitulate, parents should most definitely be required to volunteer in their child`s school but only if it does not interfere with work. By spending some extra time together, the parent and child foster a lasting bond and understanding of each other that lasts well into adulthood.