All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

In any business, efficiency is key. Efficiency increases productivity which increases profit. However, some companies fall behind in this area and feel the need to hire an outside consultant to take a better look at what is going wrong in the company. But, often times, the primary problem is a lack of communication in the work place particularly between the employer and the employees. Although a consultant would provide a beneficial outsider`s view of the company, hiring one would also cost a fair bit of money and would often be unnecessary if communication was better within the workplace.

One of the main aspects of being an adult is having a career. This, of course, comes with an employer. An employer has the responsibility to have a professional relationship with his or her employees. However, this relationship can occasionally get too professional to the point that there is an invisible wall between the employer and their subsidiaries. In a company, employees should feel comfortable bringing work place concerns to their employer. One may argue that this wastes the boss`s valuable time. If reality, however, once relationships are improved and lines of communication are open, concerns will be far and few between leaving the employer to do his job as he normally would but in a better environments. So, in actuality, better communication and an improved relationship would help the entire company-not just the employees.

When employees feel comfortable in the workplace, they are likely to get more work done. As an example, say an employee at a statistics company has an issue with understanding the topic she is to analyze. If she has a poor relationship with the employer, she may be too afraid to ask and end up spending countless nights trying to figure out her topic and writing a substandard report. However, if the employee is comfortable coming to her boss with her concerns she may schedule a meeting to clarify her knowledge on what she is analyzing. This principle goes for any business, whether it be a pet sitter or an internationally traveling accounting consultant. If the employees are happy then more work gets done and there are less problems to worry about. In the end, the company that reinforces positive communication will save scores of money on a consultant and gain even more in profit due to increased productivity.

Finally, when a business foregoes hiring a consultant for improving communication, they will save a large sum of money. Presumably a consultant is expensive. Once a company gets to the point of needing one, their productivity and profits are more than likely down a fair bit and hiring a consultant would take even more of the much needed money. This may go so far as to require a lessening of paychecks and or some pink slips within the business. It can be said, however, that an outsider`s objective opinion may help a failing company. While this may be true in some cases, for the most part in a business the only people who truly know what is going on are those who are there for forty hours a week. Additionally, if the boss knows a consultant is coming, he or she may tell their subsidiaries specific topics to not tell the consultant about to avoid making the company look worse.

To recapitulate, while a consultant may be useful in some cases, most of the time a business would benefit more if the employees felt they had a better relationship with their employer. After all, the employees and the employer are the same thing-people. And people benefit from relationships with other people. The workplace should be no different.