The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The article written by the anthropologist, Dr. Karp is lauded with assumptions. The article assumes much about Dr. Field`s research methods and results namely his discovery that a group of children in Tertia are raised by the village rather than biological parents. Some assumptions made include that both scientists researched the same group of people, that Dr. Field only observed the people and did not directly speak to them, and that in the span of twenty years, the people did not evolve.

The primary assumption made in Dr. Karp`s article is that, although it had been twenty years since Dr. Field`s research I Tertia, the people of the island had not evolved. In the span of years, decades, and centuries humans have a tendency to evolve technologically and culturally. As an example, twenty years ago, computers were massive, people were listening to CDs, and most everyone used a landline telephone. Today, every single one of these technologies has been condensed into a device that fits in your palm. Who`s to say that the people of Tertia have not also evolved culturally, albeit in a more primitive way? It is possible, and highly likely, that within the past twenty years, the residents have progressed into a more parental society as opposed to a group society. This could be due to changes in the people`s attitudes or even a lessened need to help rear each other`s children. Additionally, it is not likely that Dr. Karp even spoke to the same group of people as Dr. Field.

As years go by, so do generations. With each passing generation, trends and methods of doing things evolve as well. It is possible that the children Dr. Karp spoke to were the children or even grandchildren of the people who Dr. Field observed. The assumption that just because Dr. Karp spoke to the same society of people as Dr. Field, he spoke to the exact same people is flawed. In reality, it is not only the fact that he did not speak to the same people, but also the fact that the younger generation may well have done away with the group society that Dr. Karp had a different experience and, therefore made a great generalization and dismissal of Dr. Field`s work.

The final assumption made by Dr. Karp is that, just because he obtained different results than Dr. Field, Dr. Field`s results and methods are invalid. This is not only a gross conclusion, but it is also disrespectful to Dr. Field and a naive way of thinking. It was twenty years between the two scientists` trips. In the twenty years, research methods probably changed as did technology, resources, and opinions. Why is it so difficult to believe that a group in another society can change as well? Dr. Karp`s new methods may be more useful, but he is certainly dismissing a massive amount of valid information by ignoring the fact that cultures change.

To recapitulate, the assumptions in this article are not only immense, but also naive. If societies did not change, scientists would not even be able to do this type of research. The assumptions mentioned would severely weaken Dr. Karp`s presented argument.