Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

The argument that although many lives may be saved because of an inoculation for cow flu, they cannot give it due to a small chance of death is far too broad. To strengthen this argument, it needs evidence supporting the claim it presents. The argument, as it stands, has no evidence and, therefore, no validity.

The first question that arises when reading the argument is how small is the possibility of death associated with the inoculation? If it truly is a small chance, then it is an invalid reason to not allow the inoculation. As cliche as it sounds, the odds of the many outweigh the odds of the few. As an example, people die every year from the flu shot, but it is still administered to millions annually. This is because of how inoculations work. They put a small amount of the virus into a person`s system to allow their immune system to fight it off. If this inoculation was given in a region where cow flu is prevalent, it would most likely save the lives of many more people than the couple who risk dying from it. In addition, are those who die actually dying from the inoculation?

The presented argument is heavily lacking in evidence to support its claim. In addition to just how small the risk of death is, it fails to account for who exactly has died from its use. These people could be children who have under developed immune systems or the elderly with prior conditions or habits that have adverse effects when combined with the inoculation. If the people administering the inoculation are made aware of the risks involved with it and the people who will potentially die from it, they will ensure that very few, if any, people with theses issues are knowingly given the inoculation. However, the argument does not specify this and is, therefore, incomplete.

Finally, and perhaps most importantly in regards to an argument such as this, is the question of how many people will be saved from the inoculation. The argument does not specify if the administration of the inoculation will save hundreds, thousands, or tens of people. It just says "many lives might be saved." Well might is not a synonym for definitely so the argument needs a reason as to why the inoculation would work and just how many people may be saved by its use.

To summarize, the argument is severely lacking in evidence. Apart from the idea of a few people potentially dying so that countless may live being a bit flawed, it lacks the evidence to support either for or against its claims. Evidence that the small plausibility of death is actually quite large for certain people who are prevalent in the regions where cow flu is most common would strengthen the argument. However, evidence on how the inoculation has been proven effective and that a minuscule number of people risk death would weaken the argument.