Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The cause of an animal`s extinction is a varied subject. Extinction is most often caused by environmental problems. Humans, in particular, pose a great threat to certain species. Among other things, the threat may be an expansion of society into an animal`s habitat, the use of certain materials, or, the most obvious, hunting. All of the aforementioned human endeavors can lead to certain animals` endangerment and eventual extinction. The question is, if we are responsible for these animals endangerment, are we held equally responsible to make efforts to save these species? I believe that, yes, we are, in a way, responsible.

The most obvious and clear example of humans causing species extinction is hunting. This is the most direct way that animals go extinct. The areas in which hunting is most prevalent have lost entire species due to humans. In this case, humans most definitely have a responsibility to help rebuild what we`ve destroyed by re-introducing these animals back into where they have gone extinct.

Another prevalent form of human invention that harms the animal kingdom is expansion. Specifically, humans building further and further into areas that were once teeming with wildlife. The state of Florida is an excellent example of this. What was once a state of wetlands and luscious forests has become a prime tourist destination. In just my twenty year lifetime, I have seen this happen to numerous natural areas and it is only happening with more frequency as the population balloons. AS cities prosper and expand, it is the animals who take the hit.

Finally, the most topical reason that humans have harmed animal populations is the materials we use in our everyday lives. The foremost example of this is plastic. While used ubiquitously, plastic is not a bio degradable material. Therefore, it tends to get blown by the wind or carelessly disregarded by people into animal habitats. This is why sea turtles get can rings stuck on their neck or raccoons get their paws stuck in a plastic cup. This is why many places are aiming to cut out plastic use entirely. One only needs to see images of ocean pollution to receive the chilling reminder of human`s footprint on the animal world.

Of course, one must contest to the fact that not all endangered animals are in trouble at the fault of human error. After all, species have naturally become extinct for millennia. In these cases, humans bare none of the burden of saving the species. This is, to put it laconically, the circle of life. However, if there is a clear indication that humans are responsible for the endangerment, they should have a part in restoration when possible.

While society will, and should, continue to expand as populations increase, we should do so with an awareness of where we are building. If a species is endangered due to human habits, and can be remedied, we should most certainly make an effort to do so.