"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition." - Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or dis

Cooperation is behavioural attribute. Yes , all children must be taught to cooperate with people. With cooperation we can not only increase our knowledge base we can help others to enhance their knowledge. The author seems to be maintaining that competition kills knowledge and it can cause war and hatred. But I believe that both cooperation and competition should be balanced from the leaders, be it any field education ,industry etc. In order to thrive and create a balanced society.

Yes, Indeed we should teach young ones aspiring to be leader to be cooperative. Lets say a young one is planning to become a politician, he has to know how to co-operate with people. Since most of the countries are democratic, where candidates are choses because they possess certain ideals. People chose them because they have faith on the leader they have chosen. If there is something that creates imbalance in society , Like say law and order problem communal riot etc , leader must be cooperative and try to reach a reasonable concensus.Leader must not instead take favour in the interest of certain party. If the leader does that he will face hatred from the people. Leader may not be elected for his next term. Its true for any other government related fields such as police , income tax officers etc.

While its true that cooperation is healthy , it doesnt mean that competition is anathma to the future aspring leaders. Competition is also must. Consider semiconductor industry for example, companies such as Qualcomm, Mediatec etc are continuously trying to get some new innovative products to market. One of the greatest entrepreneurs of our generation , Elon musk is trying to get satellites into space at much cheaper price approx $4000$ / pound. It is indeed competition , but does that mean its unhealthy ; By no means. It makes others to work hard towards getting better technologies at much better price point. This will indeed help society to grow, flourish.

Competition is absolute must , if there is no competition in a said industry, either that industry will be Market monopoly or worse, innovation will be hindered in that said field. No competition can make companies to behave according to thier will. Increasing price as they feel to be.For example consider petroleum industry. hypothetically; lets say there was only one fossil resource all over the world and is owned by a single company, the leader of the industry can play as per his whim and vary the fuel rate accordingly. It can either create market imbalance or it can be a disaster for the leader and the company , that is people might find an alternate energy resources.

So finally my belief is that in order for society to flourish it should teach cooperation, but doesnt mean that they shouldnt teach the person to not to be competitve. Competition has its own advantages many times.Its the balance of competition and cooperation with which we can achieve the best goals and imrpove the society.