The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The choice for a person to respond to some scenarios and situations is subject to behave based on one's belives and upbringings. The prompt suggests that the ideology that the society needs to portray should be instilled in the sense of cooperation rather than competition. Not necessarily, the sense of cooperation will help the society to boom, rather might turn it to the south of it. I strongly disagree with the recommendation input by the author due to the mentioned two reasons.

Given the fact that cooperation is a very helpful tool in this world when it comes to domains like leadership in government, it fails to be a boon and rather reflects much on being a bane. For instance, in a scenerio where political parties are fighting to be victorious, a person needs to have such a caliber so as to stand up for the people being represented and rather not lack in communicating the requirements. If considering cooperation as the best practice to prepare societies young people, the candidate might just backout and resulting in lack of support for common man needs. Thus resulting in an unfair election. This simulation will reflect poorly to the society and will eventually result in people loosing faith in the government processes.

Further, in scenerios revolving around industries, it's mandatory to be competitive rather than cooperating in life where fame and wealth are subjective to performance and hard work. It might not be useful to let others succeed always and find yourself in a pit of failures and losses. For instance, be the human population as it may, there are always a limited number of jobs and work in society to fit everyone's needs. To further this inquiry, ups, and downs in the market quite dynamic in nature. Events like these can't help an individual to succeed in life if not proven worthy. Hence bringing in competition along with a little cooperation might be beneficial for the personal and overall growth of an individual.

Of course, some argue as per the market trends and society evolves, that cooperation is the sane and most helpful ways in which we all progress, I rather question the statement, based on the above reasons if actually improves or be beneficial in the long run. If it does not, we are rather in for a positive future ahead and might be teaching the upcoming generation a life lesson never to be forgotten.