The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The author states that for the development of young people for leadership in different fields like government,industry etc they should be made aware of concept of cooperation instead of competition to make them able to succeed in that particular field.

Whatever the author states with his pure intention I partially agree with the statement.To explain my point I would give an example which inclines positively towards the statement.Suppose there is a group of people who are going to set up business well known as startup.So the success of this startup definitely depends upon the kind of bond or relationship they share with each other.if there are conflicts between their thought or they are lacking understanding among each other it will result into nothing but disastrous failure of their business.it is impossible that everybody will be on the same page but sometimes they should listen to each other's thoughts and discuss their points in order to make their startup successful.cooperation can be in different forms like helping each other in work,solving doubts,like if somebody is facing issues with their work then helping them resolve their issues.So if people behave in this manner it is definitely going to make them successfull in corresponding field.

Similarly in bank there are different sub-departments in departments like in finance department like taxation,loan,fixed deposits etc.Even thought they are different departments,to maintain the reputation,financial situation of bank they are expected to cooperate with each other which will definitely help them succeed.

now I just explained how the cooperation matter to succeed in different fields but when there are different businesses in same field like there are many e-commerce websites like Flipkart,Amazon now here if u want to maintain your position in race you really need to have that competition goal in mind which will motivate you to find out different ideas which will help you mark your position in this competition.

Another form of competition is self-competition which is the best form.Sometimes competition with other results into nothing but failure but if you want to improve your previous results then you should definitely compete with yourself.if you self compete and do not give attention to what others are doing and what their goals are it will help you to maintain your track to success.

So to conclude I'd say for the development of youth in order to make them able to lead in different fields both cooperation and competition are important concepts which need to be embedded in their mind.