Originality does not mean thinking something that was never thought before; it means putting old ideas together in new ways.

it is claimed that originality not only mean the thing which is completely new but also the recreation of old ideas which are combined together in a new from.I do not completely agree with this claim.

according to me putting old ideas together in a new form cannot be complete form of originality because even though the unique way has been used to create a complete new mixture of those ideas but still the small components which are those old ideas have been derived by some other people so they are not original but can't even said to be as duplicate completely as their application will be different than those original ideas,its field may be different.

To further elaborate more on this I would give an example of a movie which I recently watched.so,basically the plot of movie was how the students in college hostel bond over many things,how depression affects students etc.so when I was watching a movie I felt that it is a mixture of two another movies but completely lacked originality though there were small parts in movie which were original.but as most of the movie ideas,nearly 80% of it was derived from some other movies it felt like completely duplicate.so,my point is whenever you are creating a new thing which is derived from some other thing try not to use everything of that original old thing but try to add your own elements to make it more original.

To make it more clear I would exemplify another movies.so there are two comedy movies which I watched which have almost same plot which talks about the problems faced by people because of racism in society.Now here we will feel that those 2 movies will almost be same but surprisingly they are not.even though they have same plot but both movies touched the same topic in completely different ways so it makes them more original than previous scenario.I am not saying that this is complete originality but percentage of originality increases in this because of using only same plot not same stories.

Finally to conclude according to me originality cannot be binary like everything cannot be completely original or duplicate sometimes there can be some traits of previously invented things.If a certain idea is derived from or inspired from previously originated idea we cannot say that is is duplicate but it is partially or almost original.