The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Being a leader is nowadays a very appreciated position. More and more young people in a university-age want to lead their own company or be in an important position in a big firm. Therefore, our education should definitely prepare us for this task and the curriculum should be focused on it. Furthermore, I mostly agree that the most important factor when one wants to be a leader in the future is having a sense of cooperation, not competition and I will show 3 reasons for that.

To begin, cooperation plays a crucial role in leadership, therefore a society of young people should be educated in this field the most. For instance, the founder of Microsoft, Bill Gates, was a prodigy child from the very beginning, however, this was not what was the most important thing in his career path. When he was in university-age, he cooperated with his best friend and this union resulted in one of the best-known companies in the world. Without cooperating, Bill Gates would not achieve everything that he achieved, as some goal are impossible to be gained alone. Therefore, even the most brilliant people need cooperation to be a good leader and achieve some goals. That is why the best way for society to prepare young people for leadership is by learning how to cooperate.

Further, not only cooperation is the crucial thing when being a leader, the competition is a negative thing that influences leaders. It is known, that by the competition it is possible to gain more enemies which will not be eager to help in the future. For instance, the Polish government currently ruling party, PiS, is known for its competition and definitely not cooperation. The leader of the party, Jaroslaw Kaczynski, is famous for his slandering speeches towards the opposition, therefore, he has a lot of enemies in the government. That is why, when there is voting in the government, the opposition whatever what is always against the proposed changes in the law, even when the recommendations are proper. Therefore, as we can see, a sense of competition is not an advantage when being a leader as one might get some enemies which are eager to harm. That is why, young people should be focused more on cooperation, not competition.

On the other hand, one can say, that competition propitiates development as it makes leaders more willing to risk to get the advantage. However, this is cooperation that makes development in the world. For instance, in a past, the US and Russia compete with each other to be the first ones on the moon. When it comes to Mars exploration, NASA changed its attitude and decided to cooperate with Europe to gain this goal together. Therefore, cooperation is very important.

In conclusion, this is a very complex subject, and there are no easy answers to the problem of whether cooperation is more crucial in leadership, or maybe it is competition. However, based on the examples from history, it is cooperation that allowed leaders to achieve their goals, not the competition. Therefore, the governments should focus on instilling in young people a sense of cooperation rather than competition as the first one is the crucial factor to be a good leader.