Schools should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It is commonly known, that nowadays schools prepare students almost only for the academic aspects of life. Children and adolescents have basically only classes from science, math or history. Therefore, a lot of children in these days have much bigger knowledge when it comes to historic events, rather than how to cook a dinner for family or repair a classic lamp. Therefore, I do agree with the claim, that schools should do more to prepare students more for non-academic aspects of adulthood.

One very important thing is that not every student goes to university; therefore, not everyone needs to have very academic knowledge. The big amount of children from primary schools, does not want to have a higher education, therefore, their education that they get, which is the primary and secondary school should give them the more broad knowledge to prepare them for the adulthood. In fact, many families in the US cannot afford sending their kids to university. That is why, children of these families would be better prepared for the adulthood, when the school classes showed them how to make practical things, as building something from a wood, sewing or cooking. This kind of classes would show these children the opportunities they have, when not taking the academic path for the future.

Additionally, school is the institution which prepares us, citizens, for the adulthood. In fact, it might have bigger imact on our future than our parents have. Therefore, the governments should focus on the education most of its attention, as it is their goal to build peaceful society where the unemployment rate is low. Imagine, that schools provide only academic education, without practical one, as a result, all children want to pursue their career in university. If all people had higher education, there would be high unemployment rate, as everyone wants to be on a high position, but there is not that much space. Therefore, it is the governments’ interest to provide education in every field, to create society with all kind of specialists and non-specialists. That is why I do agree with the claim.

On the other hand, it is understandable that the main focus of schools is to provide academic knowledge, as they want to give equal opportunity for evey child to educate themself in their future. In addition, people with high academic knowledge of math or science, as Elon Musk or Jeff Besos are the ones that change the world in which we live. However, not everyone will be Elon Musk, therefore everyone should have an equal chance to educate themself on many fields, not only academic.

In conclusion, therefore, the claim is subjective, and there are some schools which are more focused on pragmatic aspects of life, and some that are focused on academic aspects, every students in a primary or secondary school should have a broad range of possibilities to choose the field in which he/she feels the best. Therefore, I do agree with the statement that schools should do more to prepare citizens for non-academic aspects of adulthood, as for many people this is the only type of education they get, and if they will not get practical knowledge from school there is no other place they can get that.