As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Nowadays technology plays significant role in our lives, and every next generation experience technology influence more and more. Some might say that it is a reason why humans' ability to think deteriorate, however, technology brings a lot of helpful tools in our life. Therefore, the topic is subjective and individual judgement is possible. I mostly agree, that technology has great impact on humans and this impact make our ability to think to exacerbate, and I will prove it using two reasons.

To begin, humans' ability to use offline devices deteriorated significantly. For example, using maps for some people is an impossible task. Moreover, to navigate somebody while the phone with Google Maps is disabled, seems to many people too hard task. Because nowadays we are using Google Maps, or other app maps, to commute, our ability to remember the road or to use map completely disappeared. There was a research conducted, were people were supposed to navigate using physical maps only, and many of them got lost. Situation like this, would not have place fifty years ago, when maps were the only helpful tool to navigate. Therefore, the claim that as people rely more and more on technology their ability to think for themselves deteriorate, is true.

Further, not only our skills to navigate without Google Maps weaken, also our ability to make simple calculation in our mind is worse. Responsible device for that change is a calculator which usage penetrated our everyday life. Furthermore, we can clearly see that while using calculator for simple calculation we do not use our own brain. Therefore, our ability to make simple multiplications, and not only, is worse and worse which is clearly seen in young generation. That is why, some schools banned calculator usage during math classes what is a good step. Based on this example, it is possible to make a conclusion that by using calculator our ability to make calculation by our own is much worse.

On the other hand, technology make some problems more complicated and it forces us to think more for ourselves. For instance, devices as iPhone or computer would never be invented if it was not for a technology. Furthermore, it broaden our spectrum of possibilities and make people to be focused on inventing and creative thinking. Another example is space exploration which is possible only because of new super computers. In this case it is a tool for humans to think our of box and calculate computation which would be impossible to solve fifty years ago. However, space exploration started in 1950, when there was no computers, so we might see that this is not a necessary tool. However, I can not fully agree with the claim that technology will surly deteriorate humans' ability to think.

In conclusion, this is a very complex topics and there are no easy answers, however, the influence of technology on our life is significant and we need to get used to living in such world. Moreover, technology might have negative effect on our ability to think, however, it can be used as a tool to more complex problems. Therefore, the judgement is subjective and there are many point of views. However, I mostly agree with the claim that technology deteriorates most people ability to think for themselves.