The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author’s conclusion is that the teachers in some high school should assign homework no more than twice a week. The evidence on which the argument is based is about the difference in grades and school achievement in two other schools, where there is a discrepancy between the frequency of homework assignments. However, before the argument evaluation, some pieces of evidence are needed.

First of all, we need evidence that the data from the mentioned survey is reliable and valid. In fact, it is mentioned that the research was conducted in a high school in the district of Sanlee and in some school in the district of Marlee. These two schools might be completely not comparable to each other. Suppose, the survey from a district of Marlee was conducted in a primary school where it is obvious that primary schools get fewer home assignments than high school students. Further, high school students tend to repeat a year of school more frequently than primary school students as the classes are much more taxing. Therefore, if this is the truth that the survey was conducted on two different levels of schools, the whole argument would be flawed and based on invalid evidence.

Secondly, before the evaluation, the author should provide us with evidence, that the schools in a district of Sanlee and Marlee are related to the school in which the recommendation is considered to be implemented. Suppose, that the schools from the evidence are in a completely different part of the world, where the education system might be totally different. For example, mentioned districts might be in Africa and the author’s school might be in the US. If this was true, the whole argument would be weakened and not valid as it is impossible to compare these schools. That is why we need evidence of the relation between the mentioned schools.

Additionally, to evaluate the argument we need evidence that the students from the school in the district of Marlee are equal to the students in Sanlee. In other words, that students from a Sanlee district are comparable to students in Marlee. In fact, it might appear that a high school in Marlee is the best one in the whole country, thus it is more probable that students pass all the classes without any difficulties. Moreover, we need evidence that the homework frequencies are the only factor influencing the student's abilities. Suppose, the students in Marlee have fewer assignments, but they have more exams, and this is why their grades at the end of the semester are better. If this was true, the author’s suggestion to make no more than two homework a week might not bring the desired effect, therefore the argument would be weak and not cogent enough.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. To evaluate it, the author’s school should make no more than two homework assignments in a week we need more pieces of evidence. The provided pieces of evidence will make the passage more reliable and help to evaluate whether fewer homework has an influence on the student's achievements.