The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

In today's era, competition is increasing day by day in every field of study. The given prompt asserts that to prepare the modern generation for leardership roles in government, industry and other fields of study it is important to teach them the value of cooperation and not competition. I mostly agree with the given claim for two reasons which I will elucidate below. However, I do concede that the society should also work on instilling the sense of competition into the young generation for their growth.

Firstly, the society should instill the sense of cooperation rather than competition because we learn so many important things by cooperating with people and it enhances our leadership qualities. For example, if a student is not a team player and is always striving to be better than everyone else in his class, he won't learn how it is like to work in a team. He won't be aware of the obstacles that the other team faced and how they overcame that hinderance. Being in team, enables a person to analyze an idea from different point of views .Additionaly, if our ancestors did not cooperate with each other when science was not so developed and when people used to believe on supernatural powers, dieties etc for all the things that happen in the world, they wouldn't have been able to make significant changes and advancements in science. Furthermore, when India was under British rule and Gandhiji opted for non-violence, many people were against him, but he analysed the situation from every point of view and decided to go with non-violence. He cooperated with all the people who were with him in the freedom struggle, took their ideas into account regarding how to fight the Britishers and now he is known as one of the greatest leader of the history.By cooperating with people, he learned what was in their mind and took his decisions accordingly, which must have played a vital role in improving his leadership skills. Thus, to enhance leadership qualities it is important to cooperate with everyone as there is always scope to learn new things.

Futhermore, by inculcating sense of coopeartion in the young generation, they can become more aware of the needs of the society which can ultimately help them in taking great decisions(a necessary trait which all leaders should possess). For example, if a person who works at a software company and wants to reach a higher position in that company, analyses the current problems that his team mates are facing or the problems that the customers of that organisation are facing, he might take into account all those problems and work on them. In future when he gets to work at a higher position, all this things which he learnt by cooperating with his collegues and by focusing on the problems that the society were facing, it can help him to take better decisions. In contrast, even if he gets to be the leader of that firm without cooperating with his team mates, while taking important leadership decisions, he won't be aware of the problems of the people who are working below him.By cooperating with people, an individual might be able to learn many new things which will help him in future while taking pivotal decisions.

In conclusion, to become a good leader it is necessary to know the difficulties that people face which can be learnt by working in team, not alone. A person will be able to analyse the situation from various points of view as everyone has disparate ideas and opinions. However, sometimes to achieve our goals it may be necessary to compete with people who are working along with us to get ahead of them because if everyone is on the same boat it may prevent us from developing unique skills that are necessary to differentiate oneself from the rest of the crowd.