The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment

To assess the talent of a person, time is not a parameter nor a constraint.Real talent always find it's way. The thesis presented, claims that real talent can only be assessed after several years.I strongly disagree with the thesis presented, because of the following reasons.

History has witnessed lots of talented people in all the fields. Although, some people in history aren't given credit for the work they did and the battles they fought.But, as far as we talk about real talent, that too in the field of music, musicians have never failed to amaze people with talent. Talented musicians have always allured people with their fascinating music. The way musicians express their thoughts and ideas to the outside world through music is just amazing. Their talent and hard work is always praised by people world wide even after generations. To give an example, one of the most significant figures of the 20th century, musician Michael Jackson was always praised for his outstanding work in the music industry. People did not fail to recognise his talent when he was alive. Still , people and youth of new generation know how talented musician and singer he was. He demonstrated his abilities in every way possible and nobody ever failed to recognise him as a talented singer. People acknowledged his talent and so did the music industry and felicitated him with various awards.

Secondly, the author claims, for honest assessment fame should not be a barrier, so that real talent is precisely assessed. The fame of a musician or any popular person in general is not only acquired through talent but also by his/her deeds. A person might be very talented but if he is not nice to his collegues, his fans or all the peopple who are related to him in any way, his notoriety will increase. After he dies, he'll be famous and people will know him for generations but not in a good way. After a real talented and generous person dies, his eminence stays the same for generations to come. For example, if we talk about the prominent Indian singer and musician, Lata mangeshkar who passed out last year, left a huge impact on the Indian music industry.Her father died when she was just 13. She paved her way in the music industry through hard work and determination. Her fame and eminence was due to her passion and excellent work of musical compositions which had no parallel competition and which was the best of its kind.She was popular in the 1980s-1990s but still on every popular occasion, in every wedding and in sort of function, people cherish her songs. Youth of this generation is equally captivated by her songs. There are some musicians who get into the music industry due to their family background. If these people who have a strong musical background, assume that people will love them and appreciate their work just because they are already popular are unlikely to succeed. Fame, does not depend on who the person is, it depends on that person's hard work and consistency. Through hard work, real talent is achieved which is always appreciated irrespective of time.

Even if, time is really a parameter to judge the talent of a person, real talent won't ever be assessed incorrectly.People never forget an artist's hard work and dedication. Talent is unique to a person.It never comes easily. In the field of music this is prominent and the real talent can be accurately assessed from the work of the artist and not by the fame he or she attains during their life time.Life and death is not a factor to assess the real talent of a person.