The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

As the worldwide population grows so does the amount of trash produced. Landfills are increasing in size and scientists believe this is causing harmful effects to the environment. In the above statement, it is said that the best way to solve the environmental problems produced by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they accept from each household. This is disagreeable since it is not a realistic option and it is not the sole solution to the problem but, on the other hand, it would cut down on the trash that lands in landfills.

Firstly, this overall proposed solution is not realistic. What would happen with the extra trash that households have but cannot set to the curb for trash pick-up? This trash will end up in people’s yards and making more of the environment problematic. Residents may also begin to dispose of materials in an inappropriate way such as burning batteries and other chemicals that can be harmful to the body if inhaled. Chemicals may also be dumped in backyards and domestic and wild animals would have access to them. If ingested, the chemicals can be fatal to any animal and thus lead to a smaller animal population in the area.

Not only is this proposed solution not realistic but it is not the best solution as stated above. More research can be conducted in order to figure out the best solution to cut down on consumer-related trash amounts and thus smaller landfills. The author should assess a survey for each of the cities and towns in which they want to establish this rule to see what works best for the residents and what does not work at all. For example, many people may be open to purchasing recycling containers and using those for their glass, paper, and plastic goods if there were someone to pick it up weekly. Residents may also pay an extra fee for extra trash cans used in order to compensate the labor workers.

This proposed idea may not be realistic or the best solution, but if enforced, it would cut down on the amount of trash used per household. Advocates for this limit can visit each household and describe the program along with answering any questions the resident may have. In order for this program to succeed it would need to be an enforced policy so each resident may cooperate. People may find themselves reducing the amount of trash consumed and watching what they are throwing away if they know there will be consequences for any trash above the limit.

All in all, the proposed program on creating a strict trash limit for cities and towns needs an evaluation before being set in place. This above proposal is not realistic and may not be the best solution to this trash problem. Other solutions should also be explored upon establishing a solution. But, if this strict limit were to be set in stone before any reevaluation, then it could cut down on the amount of trash and help the environment.