Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The world is full of people whom disagree and agree with others. As these people have disagreement, whether it is over how to properly wash the laundry or a political view point, the disagreements can lead to others seeing different viewpoints as well as increasing the knowledge and learning in other areas. Some people do find it, however, to converse with others whom share the same viewpoint as them and are in agreement over the topics.

Firstly, disagreeing with someone brings up different viewpoints as well as shedding light on different angles on the subject. For example, the 2016 presidential election is on fire right now. There have previously been debates, democratic or republican, where the electoral candidates are able to share their viewpoints on certain topic such as homeland security, ISIS, the economy, and others. The candidates are sometimes in agreement with the answers, but those who disagree are able to voice their opinion and allow each candidate to take in some insight of their opinion.

Not only can it bring up others’ viewpoints and provide different angles to a story, but disagreement can also increase the knowledge and learning to other areas as long as the listener is willing to actively listen and hear them out. For example, a school teacher is teaching high school students how to properly bake a pan of brownies in home economics. She is providing step by step instructions on how to prepare the perfect brownie while a student disagrees with her and states there is another way to prepare the perfect brownie. The teacher is intrigued and allows the student to demonstrate their way and thus providing the classmates with an alternative way to prepare a perfect brownie. This disagreement allowed for the increased knowledge and learning of how to make a batch of brownies.

However, disagreeing conversations may not always be the easiest ones so being able to converse with people who are in agreement is much easier and relaxed than those who are in disagreement. A conversation in disagreement can cause for blood pressures to rise and a competitive edge to come out because each party believes they are in the right. This can lead to broken friendships before they even began.

All in all, disagreement is not a negative type of conversation. People in disagreement can learn as well as widen their viewpoints more than those who are in agreement. Disagreement can cause broken friendships because it is easier to talk to others who share the same opinion and viewpoint compared to those that do not. The world will always be full of people who are agreeing and disagreeing with others and it takes an open mind to choose a side.