People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

People are quick to blame others when a situation goes awry and they find themselves in trouble, whether it’s with the law or with a loved one. Some people believe that their behavior is determined by forces not of their own making but actually, their behavior is not determined by any outside force. People are responsible for their own behavior, people can ignore the outside forces, and perhaps they are even influenced by something other than the outside forces.

People are responsible for their own behavior. When a driver is pulled over for drinking and driving and charged with a DUI by the law enforcement, the defendant will go to court and attempt to save themselves from going to jail. During the court preceding’s the defendant and their lawyer bring up others who may have influenced them to drink and drive but in reality it is the driver’s own fault. They decided to drink alcohol and to get behind the wheel of a car when they know that it is illegal for anyone to be drunk and driving. Imagine if the drunk driver had not have been caught and could have killed themselves or someone else.

While people are responsible for their own behavior they also tend ignore the outside forces. Take for example, a troubled teenage boy who hangs out with the wrong crowd despite his parent’s attempts to steer him in the correct passage. His parent’s make sure that he goes to counseling each week and that he attends church each Sunday in hopes that one of the sermons will sink into his head. While the boy keeps on hanging with the bad crowd and creates more trouble, it is in this instance that the boy is ignoring those outside forces that are telling him to stay straight and to listen to his parents.

Yes, people are responsible for their own behavior and they can ignore the good influenced outside forces, however, people can also be influenced by something other than the outside forces. Perhaps the troubled teenage boy mentioned earlier is actually suffering from a mental capability and this could lead him to the actions that he is creating. Deep down he wants to stay straight to please his parents since he really loves them, but there is another voice in his head that is telling him to stay in the bad crowd and to do the wrong things.

People’s behavior is not determined by the outside forces given; people are responsible for their own behavior and can ignore the outside forces. But in retrospect, people can be influenced by something other than the outside forces leading them to erratic behavior. People need to begin to take responsibility for their own actions and to not be so quick to blame it on someone else.