Some people claim that a nation's government should preserve its wilderness areas in their natural state. Others argue that these areas should be developed for potential economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Whether or not to preserve a wilderness area that is posed in a nation has been debated back and forth since the discovery of these beautiful areas. Preserving such areas would greatly cut down on animal and plant life extinction, but if they were developed for economic growth it would have a positive impact on the nation’s economy which can positively impact all of the nation’s residents. The wilderness areas should be developed for potential economic gain because it will allow the area to receive money that it otherwise shouldn’t while allowing the nation’s residents to safely see these areas. On the other hand, if these areas did become developed then it could greatly negatively impact the plant and animal life in these areas.

When wilderness areas are developed in order to develop an economic gain, Americans first begin to think of its many national parks such as the Grand Canyon, Yellowstone, and Yosemite, among others. These are very popular national parks that are visited by millions each year. The national parks do charge for entrance into them and also some hold small gift shops where park goers can purchase memorabilia. If these areas were not developed it would mean that there would be no charge to gain entrance or the small gift shops that create memories for many families.

Not only if the wilderness areas in a national were developed it would promote a monetary gain, but it would also create a safer environment for park-goers to attend. For example, think of the Grand Canyon- a magnificent canyon that can kill someone if they were to fall over the edge. Luckily, since park developers have seen this, they have put in place large bars that keep park-goers from getting too close to the edge and risking their lives. The same can be said for Yellowstone National park; there are various signs posted that say to not engage in the wildlife there because the animals could hurt an individual. If a park were not developed these warning signs would not be posted for viewers to see and follow.

Developing a wilderness area does have the upsides of monetary gain along with creating a safe environment for its residents, but it does disturb the wildlife that lives there. Animals would not like to be run out of their home just so people can come view the beautiful scenery. Would humans like their home to be disturbed so others can see into their homes? It not only disrupts the animals’ lives but also the plant life at these parks. Trees and bushes are cut down in order to create a path for humans to walk on. Disrupting the wildlife at these areas could potentially lead to some extinction of plants and animals.

Some argue that wilderness areas to be preserved in order to keep their natural beauty but others want to develop them for economic gain. While preserving the areas would decrease animal and plant extinction, developing the areas would create an opportunity for monetary growth while also keeping its viewers safe. A compromise could be met where an area is creating economic growth while also preserving its wildlife.