The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years in Palm City, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. This difference in pest damage is best explained by the negligence of Fly-Away."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of this memo is blaming the damage done by pests in his food storage warehouses due to the negligence of the pest control company, Fly-Away. The author does not create a valid argument against the company because there are other alternatives that, when considered, could invalidate his claim. The differences could be on account of the different locations and climates of the warehouses where different species of pests resides, along with the Fly-Away having different protocols compared to the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, and the different company storing their food products in a different manner.

The author explicitly states that the warehouses where pest damage was seen occurred in two different cities. These cities could be a part of different climates and thus having different pests and their habits. Palm City seems to be in an oceanic-city and thus will have a very humid and wet climate. Pests love to find wet items to feed off of whereas Wintervale could be in a dryer, cooler climate and not be a host to as many pests as the Palm City warehouse. Thus, different climates would have a larger impact on the amount of pests available to gain entrance into the warehouse and cause damage.

Not only could there be a significant difference in climate between the warehouses but there is a large difference in the pest control companies used. Fly-Away and Buzzoff Pest Control will not have the same exact protocol as each other because they are not the same company. Buzzoff Pest Control must have a stricter protocol when dealing with pest control and employ workers who adhere to the protocols. Fly-Away can have protocols set in place but the workers may not adhere to them and thus jeopardizing the pest control effectiveness. This is like comparing apples to oranges, which are completely different items and have no relation.

Lastly, the company protocols and climate differences can be a huge impact, but how each warehouse stores the food could be a huge impact. Like the pest control companies, the warehouses most likely have protocols set in place in order to store the food properly and not allow pests to take over them. Workers may ignore the protocols and store the food in the way they think it should be stored without regard to pest invasion. This would be an employee mistake and it would be corrected in order for the warehouses to succeed in pest control operations.

All in all, Fly-Away pest control is not completely at fault for the $20,000 worth of damage at the Palm City food storage warehouse. The author should take into account variable items such as climate, pest control company protocols, and warehouse employee doings before placing the full blame on the negligence of Fly-Away. It would be recommended for the author to obtain more research and obligations before going forward with the argument against Fly-Away.