The following appeared in an e-mail sent by the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville.

"Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions. In spite of increased advertising, we are attracting fewer and fewer people to our shows, causing our profits to decrease significantly. We must take action to attract new audience members. The best way to do so is by instituting a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program this summer. Two years ago the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a 'Free Plays in the Park' program, and its profits have increased 10 percent since then. Therefore, I recommend that we start a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program of our own. If we do so, I predict that our profits will also see a significant increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions has seen a decline in the size of their average audience despite their increased efforts to advertise and attract more viewers. In order to attract more viewers, they have proposed a “Shakespeare in the Park” program similar to the program that Avon Repertory Company began two years ago. Before making a final decision on whether or not to start the program, the marketing director needs to answer a few questions regarding the program to validate whether or not this would be a reasonable recommendation in order to begin this program.

The first question that would need to be asked is, why have the Shakespeare plays attracted fewer and fewer viewers? Are they hosted at an inconvenient time for others who have important commitments such as work and school? Perhaps they have also recently increased their prices and viewers do not think the price is reasonable to attend a show. Learning the background of why the Classical Shakespeare Theatre has decreased viewers is a stepping point to see if this program would truly make a profit for the theatre.

Not only does the Classical Shakespeare Theatre need to research why their viewers have declined, they also need to figure out why the Avon Repertory Company was successful at this program. Did the Avon Repertory Company already have a high number of viewers? Did those viewers request a summer program? Or they may have been in the same situation as Classical Shakespeare Theatre, and created a successful program. If the latter, the Classical Shakespeare Theatre will need to find out what the Avon Repertory Company did during this camp. Was it a one week camp that lasted eight hours a day? Or was is a few days a week for a few hours that lasted throughout the summer? Who were their target audiences? Adults or school children that had the time off during the summer to attend these camps? If the Classical Shakespeare Theater was able to answer this questions that would be able to create a program that would in turn, become successful and create a profit.

Not only do they need to find Avon Repertory Company’s strategy for these camps but the Classical Shakespeare Theatre will need to indicate how they will advertise for this summer camp. It was previously stated that despite an increase in advertising their play viewers were fewer and fewer each time. Perhaps the Theatre could perform surveys in the local community to find out what kind of advertising works best for them and catches their eye.

All in all, the Classical Shakespeare Theatre still has research to do before deciding on whether or not to host a “Shakespeare in the Park” program or not. They will need to look at their current and previous viewers to find out why they have been fewer and fewer. They will also need to look at the “Free Plays in the Park” program hosted by Avon Repertory Company to see what made them successful, and also what their advertising strategy would be if it was decided to establish this program. Classical Shakespeare Theatre will need to have more defense for why this program should be created in order to increase their profits.