Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The government consists of a hierarchy of political leaders that have control over certain areas such as the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. There is information and data enclosed within the government that many of the public residents would like to know about in order to address the issues but some people think they should not have a right to the information. The public should have the right to be fully informed because they are involved in the government from paying taxes and voting on political leaders and new legislature. Information does exist within the government that could be a danger to the public if they were to know about it.

Every single person who either has a legal job or shops at the local grocery store pays taxes; federal income, state, social security, and sales. The tax money is essentially money that goes directly to the government and is spent in different areas such as the department of transportation, department of education, or even an emergency budget. Since the public is paying for these taxes and providing a source of income to the government, they should be fully informed about where the federal budget is being spent. For example, federal taxes should be spent on military personnel but sometimes it is being spent on other unimportant areas under the table and the public is not notified about it.

Not only should the public have access to governmental information because they pay taxes, but they also have the right to vote on any new legislature or political leader. For example, the general election for the presidential candidate is fast approaching and many are confused for who to vote for because each candidate is throwing out misleading information and the public does not know who to believe. The public should always be fully informed about any information regarding the prospective candidate in order for them to make a politically correct choice at the voting polls. As a suggestion, a website could be created that holds all of the information about each candidate in an easy and accessible manner.

The public population should be fully informed on any, and all, political information, but there are some touchy issues in areas that could cause more harm than good if the public were to know about it. It has always been said that there are things going on within the government that the president does not even know about in order to protect him. The military is full of top secret information because if this information were leaked it could lead to a national disaster. Sometimes in life it is simply easier to not know any information at all rather than know some but put people’s lives in danger.

In fully, residents who partake in legal activities such as paying taxes and taking a roll in voting should be fully informed on governmental information with the exception of top secret information that could jeopardize the safety of a country and its residents. It is always easier to be safe than sorry for previously committed actions.