The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

The problem of waste management is not new to any household. Wate generated by household end up in a dump yard or a river which cause damage to our environment.

Applying strict limits would bring awareness to consumers about what waste can be recycled and what cannot be recycled. Generally, people do not think about what to the stuff they are putting in the dustbin can be used later on. Limits will definitely bring change in the lives of people as they will think twice before putting something to thrash. Municipalities should also make people aware that how can the usual stuff can be made useful.

Packaging accounts for more than 60% of a household waste which mostly comprises of plastics. Though the cost of producing plastic is negligent as compared to the cost of alternatives used for packaging nevertheless causes more damage to the environment. It is from the side of the consumer to curb the use of plastic and make use of recycled stuff. For example, if a person wants to buy dairy or poultry, he/she should carry a steel container in which they can carry it safely back to their home.

The environment is not only getting polluted by the household waste but also there are other factors which harm the environment. Today the waste released by industries into air and water bodies is something which cannot be ignored. Officials should keep a regular check on these industries also.

New rules and regulation can be painstaking at first but when there is a huge problem like environmental damage, change is required. The best way would be to change the mentality of the people about what they think is waste and what is not. And when there is awareness amongst to people, that would be the best gift mankind can give to the scenic environment.